For more women in digitalisation

Digitalisation is changing our lives at an unprecedented speed: for Germany to remain successful tomorrow, we need the courage and innovative strength of all of us. We can do more. More women in digitalisation – from classrooms to business to politics.

#SheTransfomsIT. Here it starts.

Mission

Women in digitalisation

+ We are in the middle of the digital transformation of our society. Women need to be at the table in its development and implementation, be creative and use their perspective to develop new technologies for a diverse society. When it comes to digitalisation in Germany, we are not using the full potential available to us. Germany currently performs poorly in a European comparison with 17 % of women in the IT sector. We need more diversity to advance digitalisation in an innovative and comprehensive way.

Women shape digitalisation

+ Whether software development, IT security, STEM subjects, artificial intelligence or data analysis – digitalisation needs significantly more careers and opportunities for girls and women in all fields from the very beginning. Change begins with a new, motivating role model for girls in daycare, school and vocational training. Transformation is evident in gender-stereotype-free media as well as in the courses offered at universities. Transformation means a corporate culture that sees diversity as a condition for its own success. Politics can provide the framework for this, but we as a society must drive the transformation forward.

Education

Teaching that excites

+ Getting girls excited about digitalisation, promoting digital skills early on – that’s fun and makes the difference for our future. Gender stereotypes must be broken down and female digital role models made visible: This will succeed above all if we strengthen the school subject of computer science for all and the teachers are sensitised to gender stereotypes and are digitally competent.

Contents that inspire

+ For this, we need to support teachers with good, gender-sensitive materials and train them for digital topics. Digital skills must be taught in all apprenticeships. Coding initiatives for girls and women are fun and awaken interest in digital professions.

Science

Further develop study programmes

+ We need contemporary study programmes that are more interdisciplinary and diverse: Computer science topics should be included in non-disciplinary courses and vice versa. Networking opportunities between female students and digital companies must already be created at universities.

Transform research

+ In computer science courses, teachers should receive better didactic training and female scientists should become more visible. Overcoming the gender data gap must become an important research goal.

Business

Empower women in digitalisation

+ Diverse teams are a guarantee for economic success. Recruiting events and employer branding can easily be geared towards women. Women’s networks and experts can be made visible and flexible working time models and further training for women can be offered especially in tech companies and IT departments this makes a difference.

Strengthening female digital founders

+ One thing is clear: women can do everything. But there is often a lack of role models. Female digital entrepreneurs will be strengthened if female role models become more visible and if awarding bodies in public procurement are staffed with equal numbers of women and men. In addition, we need more female investors in venture capital funds and self-committed reporting on the number of funded women.

Be part of the transformation

Media

More women in the digital public sphere

+ We know how important role models are for young people. Therefore, we need to make many more women working on digital issues publicly visible. Online harassment of women must be punished more consistently and media algorithms must be checked for gender discrimination.

Stereotypes out of our heads

+ Digitalisation must be established as a girls‘ issue from childhood onwards: This can be achieved if prizes are awarded for best practice examples, gender neutrality becomes obligatory for school and children’s books and labels are set up for advertisements without technology stereotypes.

Politics

More women in digital policy

+ Only when women are actively involved in making digital policy can Germany’s digital transformation be successful. 50 % more decisiveness, 50 % more courage! Women and men must write the rules and regulations for the new digital society on an equal footing. This applies to laws all the way to algorithms.

More diversity in public procurement

+ Particularly in the case of digitalisation and the use of AI systems in public administration, product-related, gender-neutral criteria should already be taken into account when awarding contracts. The federal government, the state governments and local authorities should also always ensure that they present themselves in a gender-equal manner.

Our Network

Join us

With the support of

Für mehr Frauen in der Digitalisierung

Die Digitalisierung verändert unser Leben in nie dagewesener Geschwindigkeit: Damit Deutschland morgen erfolgreich bleibt, brauchen wir den Mut und die Innovationskraft von uns allen. Wir können mehr. Mehr Frauen in der Digitalisierung – von den Klassenzimmern über die Wirtschaft bis hin zur Politik.

#SheTransformsIT. Es beginnt hier.

Mission

Frauen in der Digitalisierung

Wir stecken mitten im digitalen Wandel unserer Gesellschaft. Frauen müssen hier bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung mit am Tisch sitzen, gestalterisch tätig sein und mit ihrer Perspektive neue Techniken für eine vielfältige Gesellschaft entwickeln. Bei der Digitalisierung in Deutschland schöpfen wir nicht das gesamte Potential aus, das uns zur Verfügung steht. Aktuell liegt Deutschland mit 17 % Frauenanteil in der IT-Branche in Europa auf einem der letzten Plätze. Wir brauchen mehr Diversität, um die Digitalisierung innovativ und umfassend voranzubringen.

Frauen gestalten Digitalisierung

Egal ob Software-Entwicklung, IT-Sicherheit, MINT-Fächer, Künstliche Intelligenz oder Datenanalyse– die Digitalisierung braucht in allen Bereichen deutlich mehr Karrieren und Chancen für Mädchen und Frauen von Anfang an. Wandel beginnt mit einem neuen, motivierenden Rollenbild für Mädchen in Kita, Schule und Berufsausbildung. Transformation zeigt sich in genderstereotypfreien Medien sowie in den Lehrangeboten der Universitäten. Transformation bedeutet eine Unternehmenskultur, die Diversität als Bedingung für den eigenen Erfolg sieht. Die Politik kann den Rahmen dazu liefern, die Transformation selbst müssen wir als Gesellschaft vorantreiben.

Bildung

Lehre, die begeistert

+ Mädchen für die Digitalisierung begeistern, digitale Kompetenzen früh fördern – das macht Spaß und den Unterschied für unsere Zukunft. Genderklischees müssen aufgelöst und weibliche digitale Vorbilder sichtbar gemacht werden: Das gelingt vor allem, wenn wir das Schulfach Informatik für alle stärken und die Lehrkräfte für Genderstereotype sensibilisiert und digital kompetent sind.

Inhalte, die inspirieren

+ Dazu müssen wir Lehrer*innen mit guten, gendersensiblen Materialien unterstützen und sie für digitale Themen ausbilden. In allen Ausbildungsberufen müssen digitale Kompetenzen vermittelt werden. Coding-Initiativen für Mädchen und Frauen bringen Spaß und wecken das Interesse für digitale Berufe.

Wissenschaft

Studiengänge weiterentwickeln

+ Wir brauchen zeitgemäße Studiengänge, die interdisziplinärer und diverser aufgestellt sind: Informatische Themen sollten in fachfremde Studiengänge aufgenommen werden und vice vera. Bereits an den Hochschulen müssen Vernetzungsangebote zwischen Studentinnen und mit Digitalunternehmen geschaffen werden.

Forschung transformieren

+ In informatischen Studiengängen sollten Lehrende eine bessere didaktische Ausbildung erhalten und Wissenschaftlerinnen stärker sichtbar werden. Das Überwinden des Gender Data Gap muss ein wichtiges Forschungsziel werden.

Wirtschaft

Digitalfrauen empowern

+ Diverse Teams sind ein Garant für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Recruiting Events und Employer Branding können unkompliziert auf Frauen ausgerichtet, Frauennetzwerke und Expertinnen sichtbar gemacht sowie flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und Weiterbildungen für Frauen angeboten werden – besonders in Techunternehmen und IT-Abteilungen macht das einen Unterschied.

Digitalgründerinnen stärken

+ Klar ist: Frauen können alles. Es fehlt aber oft an Vorbildern. Digitalgründerinnen werden gestärkt, wenn weibliche Vorbilder sichtbarer und Vergabegremien im öffentlichen Auftragswesen paritätisch besetzt werden. Zudem brauchen wir mehr Investorinnen in Venture Capital Fonds und ein selbstverpflichtendes Reporting zur Anzahl geförderter Frauen.

Werden Sie Teil der Transformation

Medien

Frauen rein in die digitale Öffentlichkeit

+ Wir wissen, wie wichtig Vorbilder für junge Menschen sind. Daher müssen wir viel mehr Frauen mit digitalen Themen öffentlich sichtbar machen. Onlineanfeindungen von Frauen müssen endlich konsequenter bestraft und Medienalgorithmen auf Genderdiskriminierung überprüft werden.

Stereotype raus aus den Köpfen

+ Die Digitalisierung muss von Kindertagen an als Mädchenthema etabliert werden: Das gelingt, wenn Preise für Best Practice Beispiele vergeben werden, Genderneutralität für Schul- und Kinderbücher verpflichtend wird und Label für Werbungen ohne Technik-Stereotype eingerichtet werden.

Politik

Mehr Frauen in der Digitalpolitik

+ Erst wenn Frauen aktiv in die Digitalpolitik einbezogen werden, kann die digitale Transformation Deutschlands erfolgreich werden. 50 % mehr Entscheidungsfreude, 50 % mehr Mut! Das Regelwerk für die neue digitale Gesellschaft müssen Frauen und Männer gleichberechtigt schreiben. Das geht von Gesetzen bis zu Algorithmen.

Mehr Diversität in der Vergabepraxis

+ Insbesondere bei der Digitalisierung und dem Einsatz von KI-Systemen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung sollten schon bei der Vergabe produktbezogene genderneutrale Kriterien eingesetzt werden. Auch Bund, Länder und Kommunen müssen stets auf eine gendergerechte Außendarstellung achten.

Unser Netzwerk

Machen Sie mit

Mit Unterstützung von